Simple Micellar Water: First Impressions…

Water, water, everywhere and not a drop to drink. While this looks like water, and is odorless like water, it’s not water. Don’t drink it. 

This is one of the hot new Micellar cleansing waters on the market. These types of cleansers are able to remove makeup with out having to be rinsed off. Hmmmm…



The other day my friend messaged me for my opinion on cleansing waters, and I was honest that I’ve never tried one. However, after some research I decided that I NEEDED to try one. Who wouldn’t want to  cleanse their skin fast and without the need to rinse? However, when I tried to research a good one to try, I was pretty bummed.  Many Micellar waters have fragrance. 👎. 

The  trick was finding one without fragrance. Fragrance is so irritating! Nobody needs fragrance on their face, so why use it? 

My first choice in sampling this water was the version from my beloved La Roche Posay, but when I saw that fragrance was the last ingredient I was turned off. 

That’s when I found this bottle from Simple skincare. 

Pro’s and Con’s:

Pro’s 

  • You get a generous amount of product for under seven bucks. 
  • Feels gentle on the face.
  • Contains Niacinamide. That ingredient can increase ceramides and promotes a soft texture for the skin. 
  • Did not cause a breakout*

Con’s:

  • This does not really remove every trace of makeup
  •  Pretty terrible at removing heavy mascara. 

How did I know that all my face makeup wasn’t removed? I was skeptical and not wanting to risk a breakout, so I washed my face with a foaming soap and my Clinique Sonic brush. The brush had picked up significant traces of makeup! No bueno. Although this cleansing water didn’t break me out, I can see this weak cleansing effort not helping in the long run. 

So, do you need Micellar water in your life?  That depends. I think the super dry and sensitive skin folks will love this. But anyone with an oily section of their face, like the tzone, will not really benefit as this product doesn’t deeply cleanse. Perhaps some of the pricier Micellar waters may be more effective, but I’m not willing to try any one of them if they have fragrance, and most of them do. 

Other ways I recommend to use this water:

  • For a quick refresher before reapplying evening makeup for a night out. 
  • To clean up makeup mistakes around the eye. This water is great for that because it can remove shadow, but does not make the skin oily. 
  • To keep by your bedside for the few nights where you just don’t have the strength to wash your face. I’d keep that to a minimum. 

If these off label benefits interest you, or if you wear very little makeup, then you should consider trying Simple’s version of Micellar water. 

Till next time…

Smooches! 💋

Leave a comment