Instagram vs Reality

I’m a makeup artist who rarely wears a great deal of makeup. Most days I run out of the house to get Smarshmucks without much makeup on at all (I bet you can’t guess that name. #slick). Many times I’m people watching, but sometimes I engage in conversation. When I tell people that in addition to grad school, one of my two or three jobs is being a makeup artist, I get a puzzled look. This is because I usually look like this:


Ok, picture non-styled hair. I’m not that brave to do no makeup AND scrub hair in this post. 

My usual “I tried” look is not much more:

(Foundation, blush, mascara and a strong lip). 

But today I had a conversation with a gentleman about makeup, particularly Instagram styled makeup. I explained my appreciation for the art form, but how I would never leave the house that way. This is mostly because I’m just not comfortable; however, I was looking for an excuse to procrastinate and put my nervous energy to good use. )I start the second two classes of my four classes summer tomorrow. Ay yah yahhhy.)

So here is a heavy makeup look I created and I will list the products below:


This is the amount of product I used


Details:

❣Beyond Perfecting #9 Neutral. My summertime tan color. Usually I’m a 4 in the winter, 6.5 in spring/early summer, and now 9 after a tan. 

❣Chubby in the Nude: Clove as contour. 

❣ Dark blush in elf quad

❣Shadows: purple from NYX on lid. Mystery, transforming pearl on lid from itcosmetics, fate nd desire blended in. 

❣ Maybelline waterproof mascara

❣ Urban Decay vice lipstick in Moshpit. 

Verdict: Too heavy. I think I will stick to my usual. FYI Moshpit is an awesome lipstick. I will wear it alone, without competing eyes to throw it all off. 

Till next time. 💋 Smooches!

Leave a comment